Book Review Of “The Beloveds” By Maureen Lindley @Gallerybooks

An exploration of domestic derangement, as sinister as Daphne Du Maurier’s classic Rebecca, that plumbs the depths of sibling rivalry with wit and menace. Oh, to be a Beloved—one of those lucky people for whom nothing ever goes wrong. Everything falls into their laps without effort: happiness, beauty, good fortune,...

Read More

Book Review Of “All The Beautiful Lies” By Peter Swanson @WmMorrowBooks @PeterSwanson3

Harry Ackerson has always considered his step-mother Alice to be sexy and beautiful, in an “other worldly” way. She has always been kind and attentive, if a little aloof in the last few years. Days before his college graduation, Alice calls with shocking news. His father is dead and the...

Read More

Book Review Of “The Window” By Amelia Brunskill @penguinrandom @DelacortePress @Ameliab

Anna is everything her identical twin is not. Outgoing and athletic, she is the opposite of quiet introvert Jess. The same on the outside, yet so completely different inside–it’s hard to believe the girls are sisters, let alone twins. But they are. And they tell each other everything. Or so...

Read More

Book Review Of “Evening Primrose” By Kopano Matlwa @QuercusBooks @QuercusUSA

  With urgency and tenderness Evening Primrose explores issues of race, gender and the medical profession through the eyes of a junior doctor. When Masechaba finally achieves her childhood dream of becoming a doctor, her ambition is tested as she faces the stark reality of South Africa’s public healthcare system....

Read More

Book Review Of “The Flight Attendant” By Chris Bohjalian @doubledaybooks

Cassandra Bowden is no stranger to hungover mornings. She’s a binge drinker, her job with the airline making it easy to find adventure, and the occasional blackouts seem to be inevitable. She lives with them, and the accompanying self-loathing. When she awakes in a Dubai hotel room, she tries to...

Read More

Book Review Of”Our Little Secret” By Roz Nay @Booksparks @StMartinsPress

They say you never forget your first love. What they don’t say though, is that sometimes your first love won’t forget you… A police interview room is the last place Angela expected to find herself today. It’s been hours, and they keep asking her the same inane questions over and...

Read More

Book Review Of “The Hunger” By Alma Katsu @PutnamBooks

Evil is invisible, and it is everywhere. Tamsen Donner must be a witch. That is the only way to explain the series of misfortunes that have plagued the wagon train known as the Donner Party. Depleted rations, bitter quarrels, and the mysterious death of a little boy have driven the...

Read More

Book Review Of “If I Die Tonight” By Alison Gaylin @WmMorrowBooks @alisongaylin

Late one night in the quiet Hudson Valley town of Havenkill, a distraught woman stumbles into the police station—and lives are changed forever. Aimee En, once a darling of the ’80s pop music scene, claims that a teenage boy stole her car, then ran over another young man who’d rushed...

Read More

Book Review Of “Sometimes I Lie” By Alice Feeney @Flatironbooks @alicewriterland

    My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me:  1. I’m in a coma.  2. My husband doesn’t love me anymore.  3. Sometimes I lie.  Amber wakes up in a hospital. She can’t move. She can’t speak. She can’t open her eyes. She...

Read More

Book Review Of “Other People’s Houses” By Abbi Waxman @Berkleypub

At any given moment in other people’s houses, you can find…repressed hopes and dreams…moments of unexpected joy…someone making love on the floor to a man who is most definitely not her husband… *record scratch* As the longtime local carpool mom, Frances Bloom is sometimes an unwilling witness to her neighbors’...

Read More

Excerpt Of “Other People’s Houses” By Abbi Waxman @BerkleyPub @Penguinrandom

A Little About OTHER PEOPLE’S HOUSES: It all started with a forgotten roll of toilet paper… For Frances Bloom, driver-in-residence of her local carpool crew, school dropoff is a chaotic yet predictable affair. Until one of Frances’s steely-eyed kindergarten charges sends her to retrieve forgotten school supplies in the form...

Read More

Book Review Of “Girls Burn Brighter” By Shoba Rao @Flatironbooks

A searing, electrifying debut novel set in India and America, about a once-in-a-lifetime friendship between two girls who are driven apart but never stop trying to find one another again. When Poornima first meets Savitha, she feels something she thought she lost for good when her mother died: hope. Poornima’s...

Read More

Spotlight On “S.T.A.G.S.” By M.A. Bennet @DelacortePress

Donna Tartt’s The Secret History meets Pretty Little Liars in this propulsive, edge-of-your-seat novel that explores just how far the elite at an English boarding school will go to maintain the social order. There’s no point hunting if there’s no kill. At St. Aidan the Great School, or S.T.A.G.S., new things–and new people–are to...

Read More

Book Review Of “To Kill A Kingdom” By Alexandra Christo @MacKidsBooks @alliechristo

Princess Lira is siren royalty and the most lethal of them all. With the hearts of seventeen princes in her collection, she is revered across the sea. Until a twist of fate forces her to kill one of her own. To punish her daughter, the Sea Queen transforms Lira into...

Read More

Blog Tour And Book Review Of “The Sandman” By Lars Kepler @AAKnopf @crimebythebook

  Late one night, outside Stockholm, Mikael Kohler-Frost is found wandering. Thirteen years earlier, he went missing along with his younger sister. They were long thought to have been victims of Sweden’s most notorious serial killer, Jurek Walter, now serving a life sentence in a maximum security psychiatric hospital. Now...

Read More

***GIVEAWAY**** “The Child” By Fiona Barton

As an old house is demolished in a gentrifying section of London, a workman discovers human remains, buried for years. For journalist Kate Waters, it’s a story that deserves attention. She cobbles together a piece for her newspaper, but at a loss for answers, she can only pose a question:...

Read More

Book Review Of “Look For Me” By Lisa Gardner @DuttonBooks @LisaGardnerBks

The home of a family of five is now a crime scene: four of them savagely murdered, one—a sixteen-year-old girl—missing. Was she lucky to have escaped? Or is her absence evidence of something sinister? Detective D. D. Warren is on the case—but so is survivor-turned-avenger Flora Dane. Seeking different types...

Read More

Book Review Of “This Is How It Ends” By Eva Dolan @BloomsburyPub

There’s plenty of intrigue, sex, and drugs in this fast-paced mystery, set against a backdrop of gentrifying London. Ella Riordan is a community activist who became famous when she was beaten by police during a social protest. Now Ella is a squatter in a building where the owners are evicting...

Read More

Book Review Of “The Unforgotten” By Laura Powell @Gallerybooks

  For fans of Louise Penny and Tana French, this haunting debut novel “with a slight Broadchurch feel” (Sunday Herald) explores the devastating repercussions of a long-ago crime as it delves into forbidden relationships, the emotional bond between mothers and daughters, and the dark consequences of harboring secrets. It is the summer...

Read More

Book Review Of “Mister Tenders Girl” By Carter Wilson @Sourcebooks @iamcarterwilson @sblandmark

  How far are you willing to go for Mister Tender? At fourteen, Alice Hill was viciously attacked by two of her classmates and left to die. The teens claim she was a sacrifice for a man called Mister Tender, but that could never be true: Mister Tender doesn’t exist....

Read More

Follow my blog

Want to be notified when I update my blog? Enter you email!