Category

Book Review Of “DARK AND SHALLOW LIES” By Ginny Myers Sain @PenguinTeen @RazorbillBooks @stageandpage

A teen girl disappears from her small town deep in the bayou, where magic festers beneath the surface of the swamp like water rot, in this chilling debut supernatural thriller for fans of Natasha Preston, Karen McManus, and Rory Power.

La Cachette, Louisiana, is the worst place to be if you have something to hide.

This tiny town, where seventeen-year-old Grey spends her summers, is the self-proclaimed Psychic Capital of the World–and the place where Elora Pellerin, Grey’s best friend, disappeared six months earlier.

Grey can’t believe that Elora vanished into thin air any more than she can believe that nobody in a town full of psychics knows what happened. But as she digs into the night that Elora went missing, she begins to realize that everybody in town is hiding something – her grandmother Honey; her childhood crush Hart; and even her late mother, whose secrets continue to call to Grey from beyond the grave.

When a mysterious stranger emerges from the bayou – a stormy-eyed boy with links to Elora and the town’s bloody history – Grey realizes that La Cachette’s past is far more present and dangerous than she’d ever understood. Suddenly, she doesn’t know who she can trust. In a town where secrets lurk just below the surface, and where a murderer is on the loose, nobody can be presumed innocent–and La Cachette’s dark and shallow lies may just rip the town apart.

Thank you to Penguin Teen/ Razorbill Books for gifting me an ARC of this book in exchange of an honest review. All opinions are my own.

I give this book five stars.

I knew from the second I read the first page, that I was going to devour this book. I don’t know that I have read a book in 2021 that has consumed me like this one did. The writing was perfection, the plot was phenomenal, the characters were well developed, and were so easy to grow attached to, and this small town in Louisiana that she created with so vivid and rich that I envisioned it perfectly. I am blown away still how good DASL was. I started it last night around 9 pm, and was finished today by noon.

I had theories of what happened to Elora, and maybe thought there was more to some characters than what was being lead on. I loved Grey, I love that she didn’t give up, that she loves her friends fiercely, and she would risk her life for theirs. The romance throughout the book was great too. and I LOVED the Paranormal/Supernatural/Magical aspect that is scattered through the story. So dang good!! I could literally just go on and one with this book. I also want to point out that the Author does this really cool thing, at the End of the chapter, there is a snippet from someone’s viewpoint. It definitely kept me turning pages! I am not even sure that I can pin point this genre, I think it’s definitely several of them, is that called Genre Bending? Are you looking at that cover?!?!

Out August 31st.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/56913189-dark-and-shallow-lies

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.