Book Review Of “The Other, Better Me” By Antony John @AntonyJohnBooks @KTegenBooks @WunderElena @WunderTanya

From the critically acclaimed author of Mascot comes this heartfelt novel, perfect for fans of John David Anderson and Cammie McGovern, about a girl searching for the meaning of family.


Lola and Momma have always been a team of two. It hasn’t always been easy for Lola, being one of the only kids she knows with just one parent around. And lately she’s been feeling incomplete, like there’s a part of herself that she can’t know until she knows her dad.


But what will happen—to Lola, to Momma, to their team of two—if she finds him?

Thank you to Wunderkind PR for gifting us a copy in exchange of an honest review. All opinions are our own.

We give this book a 3.5 out of 5 Stars.

I know some of you may wonder why I read such advanced books to my boys, and I’ll explain. My boys are twins, born prematurely, and both had a speech delay. I use reading Middle Grade, and some YA Books (as well as Children’s Books) to introduce them to a wide variety of words, to aid in enhancing their vocabulary. That being said, onto our review.

Believe it or not, this book actually held my 6 year old boys attention, we read a few chapters each night, and of course when they had questions, I answered. A few times they got pretty emotional over Lola, and felt sad that her daddy didn’t live with her, but I felt that was a good lesson in explaining that sometimes families don’t have both parents.

I really enjoyed this book from a mom’s standpoint. I felt the story flowed well, and I think the Author did a fantastic job at catching emotions of both Momma and Loa, and everything they went through in this book.. I won’t lie, it kind of had me feeling a certain way. There is so much more to this story, than is in the synopsis, and I am almost afraid to talk about it, I do not want to ruin anything.

Lola, is such a sweet kid, she’s full of spunk, and is very caring. She reads to a little kindergartner on the school bus everyday, and even started a book club with her. My boys especially loved that part, and now they want a book club!

I haven’t read Antony John’s other book MASCOT, but I hope to someday!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:Antony John was born in England and raised on a balanced diet of fish and chips, obscure British comedies, and ABBA’s Greatest Hits. In a fit of teenage rebellion, he decided to pursue a career in classical music, culminating in a BA from Oxford University and a PhD from Duke University. Along the way, he worked as an ice cream seller on a freezing English beach, a tour guide in the Netherlands, a chauffeur in Switzerland, a barista in Seattle, and a university professor. Writing by night, he spends his days as a stay-at-home dad–the only job that allows him to wear his favorite pair of sweatpants all the time. He lives in St. Louis with his family.

THE OTHER, BETTER ME Antony John Katherine Tegen Books / ISBN: 978-0062835659 / 272 Pages / $16.99For Release: October 1st

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/43453706-the-other-better-me

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Follow my blog

Want to be notified when I update my blog? Enter you email!

%d bloggers like this: