Blog Tour, Book Review, And A Very Yummy Recipe. @FierceReads @KatyPool @MacKidsBooks

The Age of Darkness approaches.
Five lives stand in its way.
Who will stop it… or unleash it? 


For generations, the Seven Prophets guided humanity. Using their visions of the future, they ended wars and united nations―until the day, one hundred years ago, when the Prophets disappeared.

All they left behind was one final, secret prophecy, foretelling an Age of Darkness and the birth of a new Prophet who could be the world’s salvation . . . or the cause of its destruction. As chaos takes hold, five souls are set on a collision course:

A prince exiled from his kingdom.
A ruthless killer known as the Pale Hand.
A once-faithful leader torn between his duty and his heart. 
A reckless gambler with the power to find anything or anyone.
And a dying girl on the verge of giving up.

One of them―or all of them―could break the world. Will they be savior or destroyer? 

Thank you Fierce Reads and Macmillan Kids Books for gifting me a copy of this book, and inviting me onto the Blog Tour. All opinions are my own.

I give this book a 4 out of 5 Stars.

My Thoughts.

A prince exiled from his kingdom.
A ruthless killer known as the Pale Hand.
A once-faithful leader torn between his duty and his heart. 
A reckless gambler with the power to find anything or anyone.
And a dying girl on the verge of giving up.

I love a book that can pull off multiple POV’s without leaving the readers completely lost. I loved the eclectic cast of characters, and I felt a pull to all of them, all for seperate reasons.

TWCAD is a sit down, keep your hands inside the ride at all times kind of book. The world building is simply magical, so beautiful, and atmospheric. And, the attachment I had to these characters was unreal. Of course I favored some more than others, but I genuinely loved them all.

I am almost kicking myself for reading this an an ARC, because that means I have to wait for at least a year for book #2 This book is dark, and at times heavy. If you are looking for a light fluffy fantasy read, you won’t find that here, so make sure you are in the right mood for this book, otherwise you might find yourself putting it down. And that would be a tragedy.

Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Children of Blood and Bone, and An Ember in the Ashes.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/41823536-there-will-come-a-darkness

Recipe for Hummus that I paired up with this book for my reading snack!

1 (15-ounce) can chickpeas or 1 1/2 cups (250 grams) cooked chickpeas

1/4 cup (60 ml) fresh lemon juice (1 large lemon)

1/4 cup (60 ml) well-stirred tahini, see our homemade tahini recipe

1 small garlic clove, minced

2 tablespoons (30 ml) extra-virgin olive oil, plus more for serving

1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

Salt to taste

2 to 3 tablespoons (30 to 45 ml) water

Dash ground paprika or sumac, for serving

Directions:

In the bowl of a food processor, combine the tahini and lemon juice and process for 1 minute, scrape the sides and bottom of the bowl then process for 30 seconds more. This extra time helps “whip” or “cream” the tahini, making the hummus smooth and creamy.

Add the olive oil, minced garlic, cumin, and a 1/2 teaspoon of salt to the whipped tahini and lemon juice. Process for 30 seconds, scrape the sides and bottom of the bowl then process another 30 seconds or until well blended. Open, drain, and rinse the chickpeas. Add half of the chickpeas to the food processor and process for 1 minute. Scrape sides and bottom of the bowl, then add remaining chickpeas and process until thick and quite smooth; 1 to 2 minutes.

Most likely the hummus will be too thick or still have tiny bits of chickpea. To fix this, with the food processor turned on, slowly add 2 to 3 tablespoons of water until you reach the perfect consistency. I drizzle a bit of Olive Oil and sprinkle some Paprika over the top of mine. So yummy!

Recipe courtesy of https://www.inspiredtaste.net/15938/easy-and-smooth-hummus-recipe/

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Follow my blog

Want to be notified when I update my blog? Enter you email!

%d bloggers like this: