Book Review Of, “Little Darlings” By Melanie Golding @crookedlandebks


“Mother knows best” takes on a sinister new meaning in this unsettling thriller perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Grimms’ Fairy Tales.

Everyone says Lauren Tranter is exhausted, that she needs rest. And they’re right; with newborn twins, Morgan and Riley, she’s never been more tired in her life. But she knows what she saw: that night, in her hospital room, a woman tried to take her babies and replace them with her own…creatures. Yet when the police arrived, they saw no one. Everyone, from her doctor to her husband, thinks she’s imagining things.

A month passes. And one bright summer morning, the babies disappear from Lauren’s side in a park. But when they’re found, something is different about them. The infants look like Morgan and Riley―to everyone else. But to Lauren, something is off. As everyone around her celebrates their return, Lauren begins to scream, These are not my babies.

Determined to bring her true infant sons home, Lauren will risk the unthinkable. But if she’s wrong about what she saw…she’ll be making the biggest mistake of her life.

Compulsive, creepy, and inspired by some our darkest fairy tales, Little Darlings will have you checking―and rechecking―your own little ones. Just to be sure. Just to be safe.

Thank you Crooked Lane Books for gifting me an ARC of this book in exchange of an honest review. All opinons are my own.

I rate this book a 2 .5 out of 5 Stars.

Please, Please don’t let this review discourage you from reading this book, as I really am going to be the unpopular opinion here. Plenty of my fellow bloggers have given this 4 and 5 Stars. I don’t like writing negative reviews, but I also promised to give an honest review, and this is it.

It just didn’t work for me, and I really cannot pinpoint why, other than I just couldn’t be grabbed by the story, the characters, or the slow build up. And maybe part of the problem was that I psyched myself up to much on this one.

What I can say about this book, is that I liked the way you questioned whether, Lauren was suffering from Postpartum Psychosis, or were her babies really changelings? The Author did a great job writing it in a style to keep you guessing. I myself suffered with PPD, and I found Lauren to be very relatable, her feelings, her emotions, her fears, were all written very spot on.

I would consider this book to be more of a Dark Fairy Tale, or maybe a Dark Folk Lore, maybe the fact I thought of this as a thriller, is why I felt so let down.

That ending though, was pretty dang good.

Little Darlings is out April 30th, I will include the Goodreads link Below.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/41806986-little-darlings?from_search=true

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Follow my blog

Want to be notified when I update my blog? Enter you email!

%d bloggers like this: