Book Review Of “Bloodleaf” By Crystal Smith @HMHTeen @crysrensmith


Perfect for fans of RED QUEEN and UPROOTED, Crystal Smith’s debut novel, BLOODLEAF, is an imaginative retelling of the Grimm Fairy tale “The Goose Girl” that takes a ghostly mystery and sets it inside an epic fantasy world.

Princess Aurelia is a prisoner to her crown and the heir that nobody wants. Surrounded by spirits and banned from using her blood-magic, Aurelia flees her country after a devastating assassination attempt. To escape her fate, Aurelia disguises herself as a commoner in a new land and discovers a happiness her crown has never allowed. As she forges new bonds and perfects her magic, she begins to fall for a man who is forbidden to rule beside her. But the ghosts that haunt Aurelia refuse to abandon her, and she finds herself succumbing to their call as they expose a nefarious plot that only she can defeat. Will she be forced to choose between the weight of the crown and the freedom of her new life?

Thank you HMH Teen For gifting me a copy of this book in exchange of an honest review. All opinions are my own.

I rate this book a 5 out of 5 Stars.

I cannot believe this is a DEBUT!!!

Okay, so here is the deal, I am a fickle YA reader. And more than half of the time, I truly don’t enjoy the story until I am at least 50% into the book. It is a very uncommon occurrence that I fall in love with a YA book at the first page. But seriously, it was love at first line with this one.

This book ripped out my heart, then put it back together, only to rip it out again. It was such a beautiful story. There were so many emotional moments in this book, and I truly wasn’t expecting it. So when they came, it was raw, gut wrenching, and they definitely tugged at my mommy heart.

I honestly didn’t expect to fall in love with this book, and I definately didn’t have the expectation that I would become so absorbed that I let life take a backseat. I lived, breathed, dreamed, this book. I found Smith’s writing to be so engrossing, rich, and beautiful. What I liked most about this book, and why I think it grabbed me so much, she didn’t use jargon, she didn’t write her characters in a generic way. (some Authors write Young Adult books where the teens behave/speak like immature tweens) There was no Instalove, No Instahate, just a natural progression of trust and friendship. With some amazing plot twists thrown in.

What this book boils down to is love, and how far you go for it, what lengths you go to protect it, And to protect those around you. The love between family, friends, and lovers. I am just in awe, and I know this book will have a permanent place in my heart. It just resonated with my soul. Also, I loved the ending. I think it was tied nicely together. Now, Crystal, when is book two coming??

The gallows had been erected in the shadow of the clock tower, partly so that the spectators could witness the executions without the nuisance of the sun in their eyes, and partly so that the Tribunal could keep its killings on precise schedule.

-Crystal Smith

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/35707080-bloodleaf

2 thoughts on “Book Review Of “Bloodleaf” By Crystal Smith @HMHTeen @crysrensmith

  1. I’ve been eyeing this one up – it’s a gorgeous cover and the synopsis sounds really exciting. Your review has pushed it higher up my list!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Follow my blog

Want to be notified when I update my blog? Enter you email!

%d bloggers like this: