Book Review Of “The Perfect Mother” By Aimee Molloy @Harperbooks @HarperCollins @jenmurfee

An addictive psychological thriller about a group of women whose lives become unexpectedly connected when one of their newborns goes missing.

They call themselves the May Mothers—a collection of new moms who gave birth in the same month. Twice a week, with strollers in tow, they get together in Prospect Park, seeking refuge from the isolation of new motherhood; sharing the fears, joys, and anxieties of their new child-centered lives.

When the group’s members agree to meet for drinks at a hip local bar, they have in mind a casual evening of fun, a brief break from their daily routine. But on this sultry Fourth of July night during the hottest summer in Brooklyn’s history, something goes terrifyingly wrong: one of the babies is abducted from his crib. Winnie, a single mom, was reluctant to leave six-week-old Midas with a babysitter, but the May Mothers insisted that everything would be fine. Now Midas is missing, the police are asking disturbing questions, and Winnie’s very private life has become fodder for a ravenous media.

Though none of the other members in the group are close to the reserved Winnie, three of them will go to increasingly risky lengths to help her find her son. And as the police bungle the investigation and the media begin to scrutinize the mothers in the days that follow, damaging secrets are exposed, marriages are tested, and friendships are formed and fractured (From Goodreads)

Thank you to Harper Books #Partner for the free copy in exchange of an honest review. All opinions are my own.

I rate with this book a Solid 3 Stars out of 5.

When I saw this book pop up as an ad on Facebook, I immediately emailed Harper Books and requested a review copy. The fact that it’s becoming a movie and it’s produced by one of my favorite t.v. stars (Kerry Washington, a.k.a. Olivia Pope) made it a must read! It sounded equally amazing as well.

I am perplexed on exactly how I feel about this book, and on how to articulate this review. It was good, it had it’s claws dug into me, but I wasn’t pulled in, as much as I wanted to be. For a good chunk of this book I had the characters totally confused. For some reason I couldn’t keep anyone straight. I’m not sure why exactly.

However, I did find the writing imaginative, dark, and rather twisty. I loved the chapters written by a mystery character, those were my favorite. I loved the aura of mystery surrounding her (not a spoiler, as she talks about herself in labor and what not) I loved that it made me question every single character, to pick them apart, scrutinize their flaws, and try to imagine what made them who they are.

When it  came to the ending, I was surprised, it wasn’t exactly how I had expected it to turn out, so I am grateful for that. I really loved how it all wrapped up. Especially the epilogue. I like books that are ended nicely and with closure and some insight into the characters in the future. Even if I didn’t LOVE this book like I had wanted to, I still really enjoyed it, and in the end that’s what really matters. I would recommend it to readers who love Thrillers, Mysteries, and Suspense. I do fully understand why this is being made into a movie, and I look forward to watching it.

Add It On Goodreads Here

Buy On Amazon Here