Book Review Of “The Unforgotten” By Laura Powell @Gallerybooks

 


For fans of Louise Penny and Tana French, this haunting debut novel “with a slight Broadchurch feel” (Sunday Herald) explores the devastating repercussions of a long-ago crime as it delves into forbidden relationships, the emotional bond between mothers and daughters, and the dark consequences of harboring secrets.

It is the summer of 1956, and fifteen-year-old Betty Broadbent has never left the Cornish fishing village of St. Steele or ventured far beyond the walls of the Hotel Eden, the slightly ramshackle boarding house run by her moody, unpredictable mother. But Betty’s world is upended when a string of brutal murders brings London’s press corps flooding into the village, many of whom find lodging at the Hotel Eden. She is instantly transfixed by one of the reporters, the mysterious and strangely aloof Mr. Gallagher—and he, fully twice her age, seems equally transfixed by her.

The unlikely relationship that blooms between Betty and Mr. Gallagher is as overlaid with longing and desire as it is with impropriety and even menace. And as the shocking death toll rises, both Betty and Mr. Gallagher are forced to make a devastating choice, one that will shape their own lives—and the life of an innocent man—forever.

With narratives that shift from 1956 to the present day and back, The Unforgotten is a mesmerizing and eerie portrayal of two people bound to each other by a secret that has the power to shape, and destroy, lives. (From Goodreads)

Thank you to Gallery Books for sending me an ARC for free, in exchange of an honest review. All opinions are my own.

This is the kind of book that I find enjoyable. It’s nice and steadily paced. There aren’t very many highs and lows. It features good writing, and well-developed characters. I was curious about the relationship between a 15-year-old and a 30-year-old man, and how they would be betrayed. As uncomfortable as it is, I think it may have been the norm back in the 1950’s. But it was written about very discreetly.

There is a lot to this book, it is a very multi layered plot. What it boils down to me, is every character did something in the name of love. Whether, it was good or bad, they all had reasons for doing what they did. And those choices affected everyone involved. There were a few scenes that made my heart hurt for Betty. For those that have read the book, you will know which ones I mean. Overall, I liked this book, and I would most definitely read more from Laura Powell.

Add It On Goodreads Here

Buy On Amazon Here