Book Review Of “Just Between Us” By Rebecca Drake @stmartinspress

Four suburban mothers and friends conspire to cover up a deadly crime in this heart-stopping novel of suspense in the tradition of Lisa Scottoline and Lisa Unger.

Alison, Julie, Sarah, Heather. Four friends living the suburban ideal. Their jobs are steady, their kids are healthy. They’re as beautiful as their houses. But each of them has a dirty little secret, and hidden behind the veneer of their perfect lives is a crime and a mystery that will consume them all.

Everything starts to unravel when Alison spots a nasty bruise on Heather’s wrist. She shares her suspicions with Julie and Sarah, compelling all three to investigate what looks like an increasingly violent marriage. As mysterious injuries and erratic behavior mount, Heather can no longer deny the abuse, but she refuses to leave her husband. Desperate to save her, Alison and the others dread the phone call telling them that she’s been killed. But when that call finally comes, it’s not Heather who’s dead. In a moment they’ll come to regret, the women must decide what lengths they’ll go to in order to help a friend.

Just Between Us is a thrilling glimpse into the underbelly of suburbia, where not all neighbors can be trusted, and even the closest friends keep dangerous secrets. You never really know what goes on in another person’s mind, or in their marriage. (From Goodreads)

Thank you to St. Martin’s Press for sending me this book to read and review on my blog. I rate this a solid four out of five stars.

Once I started the first few chapters my first thought was “People who loved Big Little Lies, are going to love this book” and now that I am finished, I stand by that statement. It has a very similar feel to it, but it also is very different. You see how far people will go, how seduced people become with the power of lust, greed, obsession, and violence. I loved  how hard these friends fought for each other, to the very bitter end. I will say, the plot twist was kind of insane! So hold on tight for that!

I felt like I connected with most of the mom’s, they all had sort like-able-ness to them. They all had similar qualities that I found in myself, and some of my friends. There was a point when one of the gals talked about how she felt being a stay at home mom, made her feel inadequate to her other working friends. I’ve felt that before, and I could relate to it. I like when books do that, it helps connect the reader to the character, and to the story.

This was my first Rebecca Drake novel, and I am very impressed with her story telling, and character building. I will have to read more from her.

It Comes out Jan. 9th guys, and I will post the pre-order link down below. I hope that you enjoy it as much as I did!

Buy On Amazon, Here

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR (PULLED FROM HER WEBSITE)

was born in New York City and moved to Indiana, Ohio, back to Indiana, Maryland, Virginia, New Jersey and Pennsylvania. I was the always the new kid, attending nine schools in 12 years including four different high schools.

Wherever we moved, one thing was a constant—we always lived near a library and a bookstore. Books were the friends that never said goodbye and great companions on long, dusty U-Haul trips from one place to the next. Each new apartment or house became home once the books were unpacked.

I was a petty thief as a child, a skilled liar, a card cheat and a Girl Scout. I was also a bookworm (some things never change) and always wrote “reading” first on any list that asked what I did for pleasure.

I love books so much that I worked as a library aide for three years in high school and narrowly escaped being fired because I spent so much time reading the books I was supposed to be shelving!

I started writing in my early teens and knew at 15 that I wanted to be a novelist, though it took me years to realize that dream.

After high school, I attended two small colleges before graduating from Penn State with a degree in Journalism. I married and settled in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, but the wanderlust has remained. I’ve traveled to countries I read about as a child–the Cook Islands, Egypt, China, and Turkey among others. I’ve also had the good fortune to live for a time in Qatar, a country I came to regard as a second home.

Like many authors, I’ve had an assortment of jobs that paid the rent: Reporter, technical writer, freelance copywriter, and editor among others. In addition to parenting two delightful children, my resume has recently included becoming an adjunct instructor for Seton Hill University’s MFA in Writing Popular Fiction.

As a teenager, staying up late devouring the latest Stephen King novel, I used to wonder what it was like to be married to him—did his wife sleep uneasily, one hand poised to dial 911? It occurred to me recently that this is what my husband and many authors’ spouses might be doing.

I’ve always been intrigued by the dark side, by the potential for evil that lurks in all of us, by what triggers seemingly average people to commit brutal and heinous acts against other human beings. However, I’m equally fascinated by the capacity for goodness and kindness that also dwells within us, amazed and inspired by the stories of ordinary people who confront cruelty with courage or choose compassion over vengeance.

For me, it always comes back to the matter of choice. In all my writing I’m interested in exploring those turning points in our lives that make us the people we are and sometimes, for better or worse, the people we never thought we’d be.