Book Review, And Blog Tour Of “Before You Were Mine” By Em Muslin

 

I give this book a 4 out of 5 stars.

I enjoyed the story, I think for a debut author she did fantastic, and in this genre, where a lot of the same topics, and even book titles are repeated, she did fantastic putting her own twist on things. It caused me to question myself, and the path that I would walk having given up a child, and than came across said child.

There were parts of this book that was borderline creepy, and stalker-ish and I loved it! A lot of emotions packed in to this fast paced story. I am glad I took part in this blog tour, and got to read a book, that I probably wouldn’t have come across otherwise. Thank you Jenny and The Neverland Blog Tours, for providing me with this copy in exchange of an honest review.

 

 

 

Before You Were Mine – Em Muslin

www.emmuslin.com

Twitter: @quaintrellem

Amazon Link: Rxe.me/1D4J3M

Also available on Kobo/Barnes & Noble/iBooks/GooglePlay books

BIO:

Em Muslin has worked in the film and television industry for over 20 years. She first fell in love with reading and writing after experiencing Judith Kerr’s When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit. She hasn’t stopped devouring books ever since. 

She loves words that capture an experience or emotion in a singular form: her current favourite, describing herself, isnemophilist

Em’s writing career has included developing a script for a stage musical with Tina Turner, and writing a bitter-sweet comedy screenplay, Last Chance Saloon

Em’s writing focuses on the texture of domestic life, relationships, family and the pressures of social convention. Her characters are often fighting to become the hero of their own story, searching for hope, despite the adversities that life inevitably brings.

BOOK BLURB:

Sometimes hope has a way of changing everything…


Just hours after giving birth, Eli Bell is forced to give up her newborn baby daughter for adoption. Devastated, she tries desperately to rebuild her shattered life.

 


Then, over thirty years later, Eli catches sight of her daughter. And she knows that she must do everything to find a way back into her life. Even if it means lying…

While her husband Tommy must grow to accept his own part in the events of her early life, he can only try to save her before her obsession with the young woman ruins them both.

Don’t miss the breathtaking debut Before You Were Mine by Em Muslin! Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Anne Tyler, Joyce Carol Oates.


Praise for Before You Were Mine: 

A heartbreaking novel about what happens when we don’t have the power to make our own choices. BEFORE YOU WERE MINE is a moving and emotional story that is sure to touch readers’ hearts.” ~ Karen Katchur, author of THE SISTERS OF BLUE MOUNTAIN 

“5 STARS – A love story that surprises in so many ways. Em Muslin has written a great debut book here. Before You Were Mine explores love on so many levels it had me reaching for the tissues more than once. It’s heartening to see people who seem totally self-serving suddenly step up and make things right. I would like to share some fudge pie and coffee with Eli.”  – Jo Ann Mapson Best selling author of  author of:
Owen’s Daughter/Finding Casey/Solomon’s Oak/The Owl & Moon Cafe/The Bad Girl Creek trilogy/The Wilder Sisters/Hank & Chloe; Loving Chloe/Shadow Ranch/ Blue Rodeo

Em Muslin’s Debut novel is heart stoppingly beautiful.
Muslin was born to write, her observations are breathtaking
I was so involved in the story, I missed my stop on the train.’
– Lynn Parson – Radio Broadcaster

5 STARS –Pleasing to the mind, 
​Em Muslin’s debut novel, “Before You Were Mine” is written with a beautiful touch where heartbreak meets love and loneliness meets freedom. Every reader can benefit from reading this book as it grabs onto your heart strings and pulls you in to compelling story that includes all aspects of family. This story is not only a great piece of literature, the story unfolds into much more than just Eli’s obsession but digs deeper into the life she left behind years ago. – Biblio Beauty Book Blog

Publisher: Harper Collins