Book Review Of “Of Fire And Stars” By Audrey Coulthurst

An atmospheric and romantic debut fantasy perfect for fans of Ash and The Winner’s Curse.

Betrothed since childhood to the prince of Mynaria, Princess Dennaleia has always known what her future holds. Her marriage will seal the alliance between Mynaria and her homeland, protecting her people from other hostile kingdoms. But Denna has a secret. She possesses an Affinity for fire—a dangerous gift for the future queen of a land where magic is forbidden.

Now Denna has to learn the ways of her new kingdom while trying to hide her growing magic. To make matters worse, she must learn to ride Mynaria’s formidable warhorses before her coronation—and her teacher is the person who intimidates her most, the prickly and unconventional Princess Amaranthine, sister of her betrothed.

When a shocking assassination leaves the kingdom reeling, Mare and Denna reluctantly join forces to search for the culprit. As the two work together, they discover there is more to one another than they thought—and soon their friendship is threatening to blossom into something more.

But with dangerous conflict brewing that makes the alliance more important than ever, acting on their feelings could be deadly. Forced to choose between their duty and their hearts, Mare and Denna must find a way to save their kingdoms—and each other. (From Amazon)

I would rate this book in between a 2.5 and 3 stars.

First off let me say, this is just totally based off of my opinion, and thoughts. I find that I cannot connect with books, when I cannot pronounce the characters names, and the names of their villages/cities. It kind of makes for a frustrating reading experience. I gave nicknames to all of the characters in this book, so it was easier to read.

With all that being said, the plot wasn’t terrible, I feel like it dragged on for a while though. My favorite part was the last 100 pages. That’s where all the excitement was. I don’t recall if this is a series, but if it is, I will not be continuing on with the story.

“Partnerships can be built, but love can’t be coaxed. Love should feel like the first time you gallop a horse flat out. It should make your blood sing. It should terrify you. And some part of you should recognize it the first time you meet the other person’s eyes.”
Audrey Coulthurst, Of Fire and Stars